Technical Issues…

I apologise to everyone who wants to read this blog but finds that they are prevented from doing so effortlessly or on demand by the technical issues by which several of these pages are plagued, and which prevent various features from working, and some postings from appearing at all.

The simple and maddening fact is that this ‘free blogging software’ from ‘WordPress’ seems to be a truly awful program. If you don’t believe me, try using it. And, when you’ve tried, try googling with a question like “why can’t I crop images in wordpress?”, and note that what shows up is a trawl of *five milion results*…

If anyone would like to recommend a better program than this worthless piece of cyber-crap, I’ll happily look at that.

Thanks, and apologies once again.

MD

2 thoughts on “Technical Issues…

  1. Hi Mark, Hope all is well with you (outside of the blog tech problems). I have used google blogger for several years now. (https://support.google.com/blogger/answer/1623800?hl=en) It has its own problems but nothing insurmountable. NB: I only post from my laptop so I don’t know how Blogger works from an iPad or smartphone. Re cropping using blogger: You have to crop before inserting an image, and you have only 3 or 4 choices for sizing and placement, which is probably no change from what you have now.

    Another topic. Re: Robert Donington. I had him for a class (“The Age of Bach and Handel”) in my last semester at the University of Iowa (1967) where he taught for several years. Extraordinary teacher & all around great fellow. I also did some copying of parts for a baroque opera he had revived – can’t remember now which one. This was before I had any idea he was into Wagner or his role as advocate for new music. I loved your two pieces on his Schoenberg defense. But the reason I’m writing is to ask if you’ve ever read or even heard of a book he wrote with his wife (?) in 1936. At least I assume it’s the same Robert Donington because I can’t find any actual link other than the name, the date is about right, and a couple of online bios mention him as a conscientious objector only in passing. The book is The Citizen Faces War (http://www.worldcat.org/title/citizen-faces-war/oclc/4330625&referer=brief_results) & the OCLC description is  “An account of the war resistance movement with a history of conscientious objection in England during the World War.”

    Best,

    Steve

    Like

Leave a Reply

